GUILDFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Annual Meeting of Guildford Borough Council held at the Guildhall, High Street, Guildford, Surrey, on Wednesday 9 May 2018

* Councillor Nigel Manning (Mayor)

* Councillor Mike Parsons (Deputy Mayor)

- * Councillor David Bilbé
- * Councillor Richard Billington
- * Councillor Philip Brooker
- * Councillor Adrian Chandler Councillor Alexandra Chesterfield Councillor Nils Christiansen Councillor Colin Cross
- * Councillor Geoff Davis
- * Councillor Graham Ellwood
- * Councillor David Elms
- * Councillor Matt Furniss
- * Councillor Andrew Gomm
- Councillor Angela Goodwin Councillor David Goodwin Councillor Murray Grubb Jnr
- * Councillor Angela Gunning
- * Councillor Gillian Harwood Councillor Liz Hogger Councillor Christian Holliday Councillor Liz Hooper
- * Councillor Mike Hurdle
- * Councillor Michael Illman
- * Councillor Gordon Jackson

- Councillor Jennifer Jordan
 Councillor Nigel Kearse
- * Councillor Sheila Kirkland Councillor Julia McShane Councillor Bob McShee
- * Councillor Marsha Moseley
- * Councillor Nikki Nelson-Smith
- * Councillor Susan Parker Councillor Dennis Paul
- * Councillor Tony Phillips
- * Councillor Mike Piper
- * Councillor David Quelch
- * Councillor Jo Randall
- * Councillor David Reeve
- * Councillor Caroline Reeves
- * Councillor Iseult Roche
- * Councillor Tony Rooth
- * Councillor Matthew Sarti
- * Councillor Pauline Searle
- * Councillor Paul Spooner
- * Councillor James Walsh
- Councillor Jenny Wicks Councillor David Wright

*Present

The following Honorary Officers of Dignity, Honorary Freemen and Honorary Aldermen were also in attendance:

The High Steward, the Earl of Onslow Honorary Freeman Andrew Hodges Honorary Freeman Jen Powell Honorary Freeman David Watts Honorary Alderman Keith Childs Honorary Alderman Sarah Creedy Honorary Alderman Bernard Parke Honorary Alderman Terence Patrick Honorary Alderman M A H M Williamson Honorary Recorder HH Judge Robert Fraser MVO

Honorary Recorder HH Judge Robert Fraser MVC Honorary Remembrancer Mr Matthew Alexander

Before proceeding to the principal business of the meeting, the Mayor received the report of the Honorary Remembrancer for the municipal year just ending and conveyed to Mr Matthew Alexander, the Council's appreciation of his excellent and informative report.

CO1 ELECTION OF MAYOR

Upon the motion of Councillor Michael Illman, seconded by Councillor James Walsh, the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Councillor Mike Parsons be elected Mayor for the municipal year 2018-19.

Councillor Nigel Manning vacated the chair.

Having been invested with the Mayoral robes and Chain of Office, Councillor Mike Parsons made the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Oath of Allegiance. The Mayor then took the chair.

CO2 APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Upon the motion of the Mayor, Councillor Mike Parsons, seconded by Councillor Nigel Manning, the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Councillor Richard Billington be appointed Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2018-19.

Having been invested with the Deputy Mayoral robes and Chain of Office, Councillor Richard Billington made the statutory Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Oath of Allegiance.

CO3 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Nils Christiansen, Colin Cross, David Goodwin, Liz Hogger, Christian Holliday, Bob McShee, and Dennis Paul and Honorary Aldermen Gordon Bridger, Mrs Catherine Cobley, Mrs C F P Griffin, Vivienne Johnson, Jayne Marks, Lynda Strudwick, and Nick Sutcliffe.

CO4 MINUTES

The Council confirmed the minutes of the ordinary meeting of the Council held on 10 April 2018 as a correct record. The Mayor signed the minutes.

CO5 MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS

(a) <u>Civic Service – 13 May 2018</u>

The Mayor invited councillors to accompany him to the Civic Service at Holy Trinity Church, High Street, Guildford at 11.30am on Sunday 13 May 2018.

(b) Selection Council Meeting – 15 May 2018

The Mayor also reminded councillors that there would be a meeting of the Council at 7pm on Tuesday 15 May 2018 to consider, among other things, the appointment of committees for the municipal year 2018-19.

CO6 MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Mayor announced the appointment of the Reverend Stephanie Sokolowski, Vicar of Chilworth, as his Chaplain.

CO7 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY REMEMBRANCER

Upon the motion of the Mayor, Councillor Mike Parsons, seconded by the Deputy Mayor, Councillor Richard Billington, the Council unanimously

RESOLVED: That Mr Matthew Alexander be appointed Honorary Remembrancer for the municipal year 2018-19.

The meeting finished at 12.47 pm	
Signed	Date
Mayor	